Abs are not made in the kitchen, they should be trained like any other muscle

D

Deleted member 88653

OG user

Since taking this advice seriously a month ago, I started training my abs with 3 sets of sit-ups to failure with my own bodyweight twice a week and in that short of a time, they have become a bit thicker. When I started lifting I was 138 lbs at 8-9% body fat at 6'4" with no abs whatsoever, and now when I look in the mirror I can see the full six pack in good lighting. Truth is the abs are like any other muscle, if you don't train them, they will forever be small and they won't show.

If you do train them, they will show even at higher levels of body fat, you can be 15-20% body fat and still have abs if you get them thick enough. The difference it makes in terms of aesthetics is huge, and guys on here assume all the time whether someone is lean based on their abs but truth is, it depends how thick they are. Untrained abs are either never visible or in the case of people with good ab genetics, they can show at low levels of body fat (that was not the case for me but training them fixed the issue).

And sit-ups are easy to do at home, just put your feet under your bed frame, and your knees at a perfectly perpendicular angle to the floor (90 degrees), and then perform each rep with your hands behind your head, until you can't anymore, then put your hands in front of you to go beyond failure. Repeat for 3 sets, 2-3 times per week, and watch as your abs start to show more and more.

• +1
Reactions: galvin8101, Sub5kang, isis_Bleach and 1 other person
water that its both

Water and dnr

• +1
Reactions: Rzn
i dont train abs specifically but i can see full 6 packs in the mirror (i do muay thai not gym) most people with abs don't specifically train it either so it doesnt matter

• +1
Reactions: Elijah_leo and ezio6
doesnt work, if your compound strength lifts are weak , your abs strength progressive overload will be limited,
minimum strength is
2 plate bench press