Alternatives for weights/dumbbells?

mplayer1234

mplayer1234

Banned
I have been working out for nearly 2 years but once the gym closed I started doing

- slow pushups 5 x 20
- slow wide pushups 5 x 20
- diamond pushups 3 x 20
- 5 minute abs

Can pushups be a replacement or am I just going to be losing gains?

• +1
Reactions: Hopeful333
@mplayer1234 Calisthenics can't replace free weights unless you are doing the exercises with additional weight.

By the time quarantine ends you will have lost most of your muscle mass and 2 years of gains will be down the toilet. Hopefully, you have good muscle memory because it might be over...

• +1
  • Woah
  • So Sad
Reactions: Deleted member 5802, Deleted member 3323, Deleted member 1680 and 1 other person
@mplayer1234 Calisthenics can't replace free weights unless you are doing the exercises with additional weight.

By the time quarantine ends you will have lost most of your muscle mass and 2 years of gains will be down the toilet. Hopefully, you have good muscle memory because it might be over...
Great I'm gonna be a skinny child again

Great I'm gonna be a skinny child again
if you're still using all your muscles they're not going to atrophy but you're just maintaining your muscle mass, not really improving it

• Love it
  • +1
Reactions: DutchPrettyBoy and mplayer1234
Do this with a backpack full of books and you could achieve some hypertrophy

• +1
Reactions: mplayer1234
Pushups are for warming up tbh and endurance maybe
Plyo pushups are a better choice

• Love it

Nevermind I just found and bought some heavy dumbbells, I'm saved and broke. They nearly sold out.

Do this with a backpack full of books and you could achieve some hypertrophy
Bro you were right, I did that as well as curls and those pushups were killing me.

• +1
Reactions: Incoming
bands are decent
i can do curls, flies, triceps, band crunches abs, leg curls. all with only bands.

although i also have a bar & plates for DLs and ohp and floor press.

• +1