Can motorcycle or dirtbike helmets influence the shape of bones in the skull.

5atbest

Iron
I have been riding my dirtbike for a few months and I noticed a decent amount of pressure from the helmet on my head. I don't think it will influence changes in my bone structure but when I have kids one day I'm worried it may influence theirs. This worry stems from a weird observation that most motocross and motorcycle riders, if they have ridden since they were a kid, have very poor bone structure and also look very similar to eachother. Just a small hunch, but I would like to avoid any negative affects and I don't want to risk both my future kids safety but also their looks.

TLDR: would dirtbike helmet change bone structure in kids or adults.

Last edited:
  • JFL
  • +1
Reactions: IndraBC, Sexually Disabled and JCaesar
Yes, there's a thing called "helmet therapy" for babies and kids where they wear a helmet to change their skull shape

• +1
Reactions: maxxmclooks
I have been riding my dirtbike for a few months and I noticed a decent amount of pressure from the helmet on my head. I don't think it will influence changes in my bone structure but when I have kids one day I'm worried it may influence theirs. This worry stems from a weird observation that most motocross and motorcycle riders, if they have ridden since they were a kid, have very poor bone structure and also look very similar to eachother. Just a small hunch, but I would like to avoid any negative affects and I don't want to risk both my future kids safety but also their looks.

TLDR: would dirtbike helmet change bone structure in kids or adults.

View attachment 2956837
Your helmet is probably too small and no.

Your helmet is probably too small and no.