Getting into entrepreneurship with PHD in STEM

ElectricalEngineer

ElectricalEngineer

Iron
Hello there! I am a current student at a T5 subject ranking engineering school studying electrical engineering with intentions to break into the semiconductor/digital IC design industry. I need a serious long term moneymaxx.

My grades and connections with professors are very good, so admission into my alma mater's PHD is essentially secured (especially so if I take a senior thesis course). However, the pay in semiconductors/digital IC design industry tops out at around 250k even at very high level R&D positions at prestigious companies. If I want to make serious money, and I mean SERIOUS money I'll have to break into entrepreneurship even if its a long road to success.

What do you guys think I should do to get into the industry after acquiring a few years of industry experience (and probably and MBA at the same time)? I'm a giga autist with access to infinite adderal/ephedrine so when it comes to being academically successful/being a powerhouse for work I'll be able to handle consistent high loads with little free time. Electrical engineering is my genuine passion, and my only other hobby is fitness.

I know that going into business is far down the line for me, but the more roadmapping I do and the more information and experience I can absorb through learning materials/supplementals/professionals the more likely it is that a business I start could be successful. So, being ambitious early on and planning ahead is something that I don't think will hurt me.

Feel free to give advice and discuss the intersections of STEM and entrepreneurship below. I'm excited to start talking about this so I can take the first steps to becoming a businessman. I'll be waiting with baited breath to discuss :)

• +1
Reactions: zxim
Wrong forum

• +1
Reactions: User28823, Clqs, ElectricalEngineer and 2 others