• Stay in math and get a phd

• Finish undergrad first then think abt it

• Pursue film school now, jfl

• Something else (comment)

Results are only viewable after voting.
DelonLover1999

DelonLover1999

Minmaxing
Backstory: I’m a math major in my junior year in college. I’ve always liked the subject since I was a kid and I am quite good at it, but the last few months I’ve been gradually losing interest for some reason. Went to a congress that had some insane researchers and very good talks, but while it was def interesting, I kinda feel like the magic is gone with me and math. Being a professor is good imo, decent salary for not much work. But the brutal part is having to get a PhD which takes a lot of time, and the quality of your thesis heavily dictates what types of unis will give you a shot at a job, so you have to study like an animal during those 4 more (long) years.

The alterative, in my mind, would be to get into screenwriting. I have very little experience (actually none, realistically). But I have written some stuff for fun, and I do believe I could get good if I really focused and gave it all. It’s also something I like very much, I’m obsessed with movies and TV shows, and that has grown more and more over the years. It would be a pretty large gamble tho, cause the odds of becoming a successful screenwriter or director are incredibly slim, but on the other hand it does sound way more fun and fulfilling atm.
I’m kinda burned out on math ngl.

So, what do you guys think? Do I finish my math major first, just to have a degree and a backup plan (sort of), or should I just take a risk and go all in?

@MaestheticMaso @Pretty @0hMan @emeraldglass @HarrierDuBois @garoupilled_ @PointOfNoReturn @BrahminBoss @It'snotover @Ellipsis

• +1
  • Hmm...
Reactions: fuse, Mr. President, Deleted member 19453 and 4 others
Sadly, you just will not be a successful screenwriter. Odds are ten thousand to one.

• So Sad
  • +1
  • Hmm...