Taking max student loans and dumping it on margin into the stock market.

Deleted member 275

Deleted member 275

Kraken
-I never worked a day in my life
-Had 0 savings

I started taking max student loans in the Netherlands whilst living minimally. I have been doing this for 7 years now and have put all of this into the stock market on 3.2x margin with my broker. The interest on the student loans are 0% here, and on the margin loan it is only 1.25%. Meaning over the entire investment I am paying about 1% a year on interest. I will be able to keep doing this for another 2 years until I have ran out of student loans to receive.

In the Netherlands you are not taxed at all on assets you own that are bought with borrowed money; According to the government I don't own anything, because I have just as much liabilities as assets.

What this means is that I currently own 216.000 dollars in stock, which should net a historical return of 7%/year, minus the 1% margin cost, netting me 6% = 13.000 dollars/year of free un-taxed income per year. This will increase as I continue lending and I re-invest all of the gains I am making.

Note: If a 2008 happens I am effectively getting completely wiped out due to my margin. (30% loss in stock market value will wipe my portfolio to 0). But for me personally that's a risk I am willing to take since I currently hate my life and this could be a way out.

I know margin costs and student loan situations are different per country so this may not be applicable, but for dutchcels this is a reasonable option tbh.

• +1
Reactions: Deleted member 6497, Deleted member 6217, Introvertednarc and 14 others
dollars?? jfl. good luck, i thought it was clear that economic unrest is near though?

• +1
Reactions: Deleted member 3202, Deleted member 1680, Deleted member 685 and 2 others
high risk high reward. good luck

• +1
Reactions: Alt Number 3, Deleted member 3202, Deleted member 1680 and 5 others