You might not need SARPE (SARPE vs Segmented Lefort 1)

D

Deleted member 20064

I gave up love and happiness a long time ago
I AM NOT A DOCTOR DO AT YOUR OWN RISK

Introduction:

Mean age is 24.9 +-9.7.

Facts:
SARPE has around 46% skeletal expansion .

42% of patients have a relapse of 2mm, and 22% chance of relapse >3mm.
This is similar to multi-segmented lefort 1.

Conclusion:
5-6mm of expansion can be done in segmented lefort 1 (two-piece lefort or three-piece)
>6mm is recommended for SARPE
(Chamberland, 2012)

However, this surgery is a lot riskier than SARPE as it can cause asceptic necrosis which is serious.

Complete Le Fort I osteotomy for palatal distraction and maxilla repositioning and

(Figure 1: Complete-Le-Fort-I-osteotomy-for-palatal-distraction-and-maxilla-repositioning)

Source(s):

Last edited:
  • +1
Reactions: ChristianChad
fuck, wouldn't surprise me if I got up to 2mm relapse because my device became lose 3 times after the one month mark, had to have it retightened twice with month long gaps in between

The improvement I got brought my palate from subhuman to average tho so I can't complain, upper and lower fit together nicely so more expansion probably would've messed with my bite more

• +1
Reactions: ChristianChad and Deleted member 20064
fuck, wouldn't surprise me if I got up to 2mm relapse because my device became lose 3 times after the one month mark, had to have it retightened twice with month long gaps in between

The improvement I got brought my palate from subhuman to average tho so I can't complain, upper and lower fit together nicely so more expansion probably would've messed with my bite more
Someone that got 10mm+ mse says if he were to do it again he would do 40-60 turns. Which is also the limit for segmented lefort 1. Meta?

Last edited:
you do realize you'll look horribly deformed, apelike, and bloated from this right. you will never have any lean face again.