Can you build muscle on a calorie deficit?

bugeater23

bugeater23

Kraken
Also is there any point in lifting or working out if you cant build muscle on a deficit?

No

• +1
Reactions: Oberyn
just don't be on a deficit theory

Only if your hormone profile improves, which it generally won't for naturals on a cut. Roiders and people coming from a really unhealthy starting point can achieve this however.

• +1
Reactions: SubhumanCurrycel, Oberyn, JawGuyFatFaceGuy and 3 others

You can if you are a complete beginner to weightlifting. You can recomp your body for a good 12-18 months (gain muscle mass - lose body fat while in a caloric deficit - the missing calories will be taken from your fat stores).

Note that you need to be consuming a high amount of protein despite being in a caloric deficit for noob gains to kick in.
You also need progressive overload at the gym just as if you were bulking. You need to hypertrophy your muscles and work them to failure

• +1
Reactions: JawGuyFatFaceGuy, Deleted member 22124, Mr.Proper and 1 other person
Also is there any point in lifting or working out if you cant build muscle on a deficit?
Yeah I have been eating 1200 calories for the past few months and have still improved my lifts substantially.

• +1
  • Woah
Reactions: Descargue96, Mr.Proper and bugeater23
Who said you can't build muscle on a deficit? Just make sure you're eating enough protein, drinking enough water and stimulating your muscles (lifting). I'm surprised at how many morons are on this forum.

• +1
Reactions: bugeater23
Honestly it's just down to how much testosterone you blast. I've found that out recently the hard way after listening to so much dumb advice about how your workout and diet must be exactly perfect.

Routine = barely matters, just damage your muscles
Diet = just get enough protein and don't be in insane deficit or insane low BF

99% of natty bodybuilding is hormone manipulation and it's fucking inefficient compared to a syringe

• +1
  • Woah