Official guide to Lens Distortion and it's effects on the face

Looksmax

Looksmax

Aesthetics Matter
Staff
For a long time I was wondering why I looked so much better in the mirror than in selfies. I already that when I took pictures from back camera that I was because I wasn't used to seeing my face flipped. But, I soon also realized that I look equally bad in selfies with the front camera. How could this be? How can I take a good picture?

First, I had to see if I was just seeing things when seeing how weird I looked in selfies. I studied pictures and learned the importance of ratios. I will outline five important ratios that are affected by lens distortion:

FWHR - Face width to height ratio: Calculated by dividing the width of the widest part of your face (bizygos) by the height of the midface (middle of eyebrows to the top of the upper lip) (ideal range is 1.75-2.05)
1586418663458 measure00

Midface ratio: Calculated by distance of the pupils divided by the distance from the middle of the distance between pupils down to the top of the upper lip. ("ideal" range is 0.95-1.15) (0.95-0.99 aren't ideal but they are still ok and are important for understanding the effects lens distortion)
1586418663458 measure01

Es Ratio: Calculated by the distance of the pupils divided by the distance of the widest part of your face (bizygos) (ideal range is 0.45-0.48)
1586418663458 measure03

Philtrum to chin ratio: Calculated by the height of your philtrum (the area between your nose and upper lip) divide with the height of your chin. (ideal is 1:1.8-1:2.75)
1586418663458 measure02

Chin to midface ratio: Calculated by the ratio of the height of your chin divided with the height of your previously mentioned midface. (ideal range is 0.55-0.65)
1586418663458 measure04