Gymmax [BEGINNERS ONLY]

Mesmerizing Gigachad

Mesmerizing Gigachad

Iron
Hello my friendly friends, I’ve looked for the gym guide in the archive to see if I could improve upon it and what do you know, there is no gym guide at all, or maybe I could just not find it. So here we go. I am a personal trainer by trade and gymmaxxer myself. This guide won't contain diet information even though that's extremely important as well so maybe I'll write a dietmax guide but for now I welcome questions in the comments.

Disclaimer: I started from being underweight which is really helpful because your body is more keen to pack on muscle mass instead of bodyfat so it allows you to bulk nicely for an extended period of time. But here we go, my results after only 1 year coming from 0.00, 6 months of complete no-life gymmax with 100% adherence followed by 6 months of laid-back casual ~60% adherence:

0KKPFNz.png

k3IuREb.png

There’s a billion things I can tell you about everything related to lifting but I’m going to focus on beginners (little to no experience with serious lifting), the goal being increased aesthetics and the assumption that you have access to a gym where you’re willing to go to twice a week. I will assume you have no serious (physical) injuries. I’m going to keep it fairly light on the references and science because we’ll be here all day, but you can always ask me questions in this topic.

We need to know the following things:
  • What exercises are optimal for our goals
  • How to implement them (reps/sets/exercise order/how much rest/weight/progression/etc.)

Which gym to select
The one that is the closest, but not Planet Fitness.

What exercises are optimal
Our good friend Menno Henselmans has a decent article on exercise selection, if you have some spare time you can find it here: http://www.simplyshredded.com/7-principles-of-exercise-selection.html