What to expect from trimax/bimax

dandymuscle

dandymuscle

Iron
I have a 5-6 mm overbite and find my mandible too narrow. I am planning to get a trimax (bsso + lefort 1+ genio).

I have consulted with 2 maxfac surgeons in Switzerland. The first one made simulations of a BSSO and bimax that don't look convincing in terms of improving my profile. The second surgeon does not provide simulations because he deems them unreliable. I am thinking of choosing him because the cost is much cheaper, as he works at a public hospital.

My main concern is that getting the trimax with the later surgeon requires me to have 8 teeth removed before surgery: wisdom teeth, the second upper premolars, and the first lower premolars. According to him this will not shrink my mouth because of the bimax, but it seems like a lot of teeth to sacrifice.

I have been wearing pre-treatment braces for 4 months and my orthodontist is waiting for my agreement to proceed with the extractions. I have appointments scheduled in 3 months with the two maxfacs before I make a decision. I want to know what the first surgeon thinks because he never mentioned extracting any premolars.

Is it worth it getting this trimax? Who had satisfying results with premolar extraction before surgery?

Attachments

• 1.jpg
    1.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 0
  • 2.jpg
    2.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 0
  • 3.jpg
    3.jpg
    2.4 MB · Views: 0
  • 4.jpg
    4.jpg
    1.3 MB · Views: 0
  • 5.jpg
    5.jpg
    762.7 KB · Views: 0
  • 6.jpg
    6.jpg
    420.3 KB · Views: 0
  • +1
Reactions: Deleted member 21403, MadTwatter, materialistic and 1 other person
find a surgeon who won't require extractions

• +1
Reactions: Deleted member 2816 and dandymuscle
find a surgeon who won't require extractions
Even if the room for mandibular advancement is low? I don't know how many mm of forward growth I could get that way, but the second surgeon considers it too small to operate.

0.1 psl increase
3 months of brutal recovery